Skip to content

Christian Zionism Explained by One of It’s Many Victims..

November 11, 2020

The Rev. Munib Younan  offers his candid   Critique of Christian Zionism.


 As an Arab Palestinian Evangelical Lutheran Christian who grew up as a refugee, questions about the land and theology of Palestine/Israel are not just theological or philosophical exercises to me. They involve all that I am and all that I hold sacred in my life as a Palestinian Christian. I have had to come to terms with these questions personally at an early age in my faith journey to make sense of my own family’s history.

 My father was one of the 6,500 refugees driven out of Beersheba in 1948, and my mother was from West Jerusalem. She remembers fleeing her home after the Haganah told her family to go and it would be safe for them to return soon, only to look back and see they had bombed her house and it was engulfed in flames. Their families became part of the 800,000 Palestinian refugees that were driven from their homes, more than 200,000 of whom left before May 1948 or before any of the more organized neighboring Arab armies came in. 

 I grew up in the Old City of Jerusalem, through the 1967 war which led to the occupation of the West Bank, including East Jerusalem, and Gaza, which has dominated our lives since then. Occupation continues to violate basic human rights.  

 The worst part for me, however, was that some of my own Christian sisters and brothers from all over the world began justifying what happened as a part of God’s plan. I still remember my first encounters with what I would now call a Christian Zionist who came to tell me that I should be thanking God because the scriptures were being fulfilled in the Six Day War. Then he told me to open the Book of Daniel and read how the small horn will win over all the other horns. This led me to wonder.

 Fitting these questions together with my sense of a just and loving God became a driving force in my life, and led me to study Hebrew, the Old Testament and, eventually, to seminary. I have spent my life trying to expose these destructive theologies and to stand for a new, more inclusive, loving theology of this Holy Land and what God is about here. 

My Christian people ,depart from the Christian Zionists ;they are neither Christians nor are they Zionists but are simply doing the bidding of satanic forces in total control of our government..

Today. Christian EVANGELICAL Zionists have clearly and loudly shouted to the governors of this country,” LET THE BLOOD OF THE PALESTINIAN PEOPLE BE ON OUR HEADS AND UPON THE HEADS OF OUR CHILDREN”

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.